Jump to the main content block

Pei-Chi Chen of CM, NSYSU won four awards in TSC Thesis Competition and Fubon Life Thesis Competition

Two major thesis awards, including the "TSC Thesis Award" and "Fubon Life Management Doctor and Master Thesis Award", have successively announced the award winners this August. The students of the College of Management, National Sun Yat-sen University (NSYSU) won a total of 23 awards, which is the school that won the most awards in both competitions. The College of Management won 16 and 7 awards in the two competitions respectively. Among them, Pei-Chi Chen, a doctoral student of the College of Management, NSYSU, took back four awards. In the newly added PhD category in the Fubon Life Management Doctor and Master Thesis Award, she won the Award for Fine Work and the Award for Best Practice at the same time, which is truly outstanding. 
 
Pei-Chi Chen said that because she had worked in the industry, she always tried to combine research theory with practice, contributing to practice and maximize the effectiveness of research. The Best Practice Award is the award she was set out to win. She was truly happy to have achieved that goal. In addition, she won the Best Presentation Award in the TCS Thesis Competition, which is especially meaningful for Pei-Chi Chen who is looking for an academic job. In addition to demonstrating her ability to clearly articulate her research to the judges in different fields of expertise. Her spontaneity and composure were greatly commended. 
 
Her doctoral desertation, "Rearticulating an old brand or selling its past? The effects, dual mechanisms, and boundary conditions of the brand revitalization/retro branding strategies”, focused on how a historic brand, which is defined as a brand that has lasted two or more generations or at least sixty years of branding, adapts to the trend of the times and transforms. She recalled that she came up with this topic because she observed the prosperity of Yancheng District, Kaohsiung City in the past. Many old and famous stores ended up dividing into separate businesses. "It is obviously the same product, but it has adopted different business models,” she commented, noting that it was a particularly interesting phenomenon. Pei-Chi Chen pointed out that historical brands differ from general brands in their long-standing core values, as well as consumers' established impression and emotional connection. How do marketers choose between new and old, and give products and brands new values? How to incorporate innovative elements into an old brand, create a new image completely different from the past, or should the historical emotional connection between the brand and the consumer be emphasized, in order to increase the customer's preference for the brand and customer spending? This paper can help business owners better understand the precautions when choosing a transformation strategy and adjusting brand personality, consumer characteristics, and product orientation in order to obtain better outcome.
 
For Pei-Chi Chen who has completed two master's degrees and a doctoral degree, coming up with a research theme has become a kind of enjoyment. Once something has aroused her interest, she would observe if the same phenomenon is happening in another country when she travels overseas. "I hope my research is a study that can be applied most countries,” she said. The experience of serving as a marketing manager for a multinational company over the past six years has made her even more sensitive to phenomena and trends, and more concerned with the practical application value of a research.
 
When she was earning a doctoral degree, besides coursework, she also had to attend to livelihood and her family. Pei-Chi Chen said that back then time allocation was very important. Fortunately, NSYSU provides abundant resources for students. In addition to the incredible research energy that offered by many excellent professors, the departments and the College of Management also provide full-time doctoral students excellent scholarships, etc., which can help remove economic burden of the students. Professors at NSYSU also strongly encourage students to participate in top international conferences. In addition to being able to learn about the latest research topics and trends, students can also get to train their courage, eloquence, and English fluency by publishing papers. At the same time, they can also make their research known to other international scholars and receive various recommendations from experts. 
 
Last, Pei-Chi Chen especially thanked her two advisors: Professor Shu-Juan Yeh of the Department of Business Management and Associate Professor Hsuan-Yi Chou of the Institute of Marketing Communication for their abundant encouragement and full support. Professor Shu-Juan Yeh is conscientious both academically and in her daily work, which is exemplary. Associate Professor Hsuan-Yi Chou is dedicated and detail-oriented. When Pei-Chi Chen reached a bottleneck when writing her paper, Associate Professor Hsuan-Yi Chou always lent a helping hand in a timely manner. Associate Professor Chou always tirelessly helped her revised her paper, and offered many advices and provided directions. "My gratitude for the professors cannot be put down in words," she said. 
 
Associate Professor Hsuan-Yi Chou pointed out that Pei-Yi Chen was the first doctoral student he advised. Her attitude towards perfecting her paper is worthy of praise. Whether it is about literature research and experimental design, she showed her diligence and keen observation. She did not only conduct research at a real store, but also collected samples from foreign countries, putting more efforts than others and making her paper very practical. Associate Professor Chou believed that the affirmation of these four awards put a perfect ending to Pei-Chi Chen’s doctoral studies, and also wished her best of luck in finding a teaching that can make use of her academic research skills and practical experiences, allowing her to shine on the road of research and teaching. 
 

Note 1: The TSC Thesis Award is also known as the Oscar Award of Management Science. This year the competition received a total of 757 papers from 72 universities and colleges, competing for the Best Thesis Award that needs to pass through 4 review sessions. This year, 137 papers stood out, and 7 of them won the Best Thesis Award. One of the 7 winners is a student from the Department of Finance Management, NSYSU, Teng-Yuan Yeh(葉登元). On the other hand, among foreign students, Mayya Achyldurdyyeva from the English-taught master program in human resource management was selected as the only winner of the Excellent Award. Simultaneously, he also received the Award for Outstanding Performance in the Category of Human Resource Management and Organization Theory in the Fubon Life Thesis Competition. 
 
Note 2: In 2019, the Fubon Life Management Doctor and Thesis Award especially added the doctoral category to encourage and affirm the long-term investment that doctoral students put into working on their theses and researches. The former President of NSYSU and the Chairman of the Chinese Management Association, Wei-Chi Liu pointed out that the total number of annual submissions had grown 22%. The number of submissions reached 748, but the acceptance rate was only about 10%. Eventually, 82 awards were given, including 11 Excellent Awards, 62 Honorable Mention Awards, and 9 Best Practice Awards.
 

 

Click Num:
Add to Favorites

跳到主要內容區塊

中山管院稱霸崇越、富邦人壽論文獎 雙料得主陳珮綺一人奪四獎

本(8)月兩項重要論文獎項「崇越論文大賞」和「富邦人壽管理博碩士論文獎」相繼公布獲獎名單,中山大學管理學院學生一共獲得23個獎項,並在兩項比賽中都是獲獎數最多的學校,分別為16項和7項。其中,中山企業管理研究所博士班學生陳珮綺更一人抱回4獎項,在「富邦人壽管理博碩士論文獎」今年新增的博士組中,一舉獲得佳作和最佳實務應用獎,表現搶眼。
 
陳珮綺表示,因為有過業界工作經驗,她一直希望可以將研究理論與實務結合,對實務做出貢獻、發揮研究的最大效益,最佳實務應用獎就是她一開始設定想獲得的獎項,「能夠實現目標,真的非常開心!」此外,在崇越論文大賞中獲得的最佳報告獎,對於邁入求職階段的陳珮綺也別具意義,除了展現向不同領域的評審清楚闡述研究的能力,也表示她的臨場反應及穩健台風受到極大肯定。
 
她的博士論文《推陳出新或撫今懷昔?歷史品牌轉型策略的效果、雙重影響機制與作用情境》聚焦探討「歷史品牌(經兩代以上傳承或至少經營六十年以上的品牌)」該如何因應時代潮流進行轉型。她回想當初會發想這個題目,是因為觀察到過去繁榮的高雄鹽埕區,許多老字號的店家後來都分家經營,「明明是同樣的產品,卻衍伸出不同的經營方式。」是一個特別又有趣的現象。陳珮綺指出,歷史品牌與一般品牌不同之處,在於其長久以來的核心價值,以及消費者對其既定的印象和情感連結,行銷者要如何在新與舊之間取捨,並賦予產品與品牌新的價值,究竟該為老品牌帶進創新的元素,創造出一個與過去不同的嶄新形象,或者應該強調品牌與消費者之間的歷史情感連結,才能提升顧客對於品牌的好感與消費金額?這篇論文可供企業主在選擇轉型策略時,更瞭解注意事項,並因應品牌個性、消費者特質、產品面向作調整,以期獲取較佳的效果。
 
對於已完成兩個碩士學位和一個博士學位的陳珮綺來說,發想研究主題是一種享受,一旦引起了她的興趣,連出國都會觀察當地是否也有同樣的現象,以及其對應方式,「我希望我的研究是一個大多數國家都能夠應用的研究。」而過去6年擔任跨國公司行銷經理的經驗、則讓她對現象與趨勢更為敏感、更在乎研究的實務應用價值。
 
在讀博士班期間同時要兼顧課業、生計與家庭,陳珮綺表示時間分配變得很重要。所幸中山大學提供學生豐沛資源,除了可以向很多優秀的老師身上獲得豐沛的研究能量,系所和院也提供全職博士生、績優學金等,在經濟方面可以無虞,更可以運用在做研究上。中山的老師們也很鼓勵同學參加頂級的國際研討會,除了可以知悉最新的學術議題與趨勢,更可以藉由發表論文訓練膽量、口條和英文,同時也可以讓自己的研究受到國際學者的關注,並獲得許多專業建議。
 
最後,陳珮綺更要感謝兩位指導老師:企業管理學系葉淑娟教授和行銷傳播管理所周軒逸副教授的大力鼓勵與支持。葉淑娟老師在學術上或是做事方面認真嚴謹,給予很好的典範。而周軒逸老師,更是非常認真和細心,在陳珮綺論文寫作遇到瓶頸時,周軒逸老師總是可以在第一時間伸出援手,過程中不厭其煩的來回修改論文,也每每提出許多建議和方向,「對老師們的感謝難以言喻。」
 
周軒逸副教授則表示,陳珮綺是他第一位博士指導學生,對論文追求完美的態度值得稱許,無論是在文獻蒐集、實驗設計上都展現她的嚴𧫴和敏銳的洞察力,不但以真實店家進行實地實驗,更蒐集國外樣本,付出比別人更多的心力,使得這篇論文在理論貢獻之外,也非常具有實務價值。周副教授認為本次四個獎項的肯定為陳同學的博士生涯畫上完美句點,並也祝福她千里馬能遇到伯樂,能找到最能發揮她學術研究能力與實務經驗的教職工作,在研究與教學的路上繼續發光發熱。
 

註1:素有「管理學界奧斯卡」之稱的崇越論文大賞今年共有來自72所大學、757篇論文報名角逐最優論文獎,經過四關審查,共有137篇論文脫穎而出,其中7篇榮獲最優論文獎,本校財管系學生葉登元及為得主之一。此外,在外籍生學為論文組生方面,中山人力資源管理全英碩士學程土庫曼籍學生Mayya Achyldurdyyeva更被選為唯一優等獎得主,他同時也獲得富邦人壽管理博碩士論文獎中,人力資源管理與組織理論組優勝獎。

 
註2:2019年富邦人壽管理博碩士論文獎,為鼓勵並肯定國內博士學生長期投入論文研究特別增設博士組,前中山大學校長、管科會理事長劉維琪表示,年投稿總件數成長近22%,投稿件數高達748件,入圍決審比率僅約10%,最終頒出82個獎項,其中為11名優勝、62名佳作以及9名最佳實務應用獎。
發佈日期: 2019-08-16
瀏覽數:
加到我的最愛